Advertisement


With a dozen locations to serve you, 1 Stop Title loans, a Phoenix Title Loan company has been serving the residence of Arizona for over a decade. We are always nearby and will provide the best service in town.


AZMVD_Banner_Ad

DUI Laws in Arizona

DUI Laws in Arizona are clear. You cannot drive or be in physical control of ANY vehicle while under the influence of ANY drug, including alcohol and marijuana. This article covers the DUI laws in Arizona.

dui az laws driver license

DUI – Don’t lose your license and avoid jail by understanding the DUI laws in Arizona.

BEST RULE TO LIVE BY: IF YOU DRINK, DON’T DRIVE.

It is important to be aware that when you apply for and accept the privilege to drive a motor vehicle in Arizona, you have provided consent to the state to test for both blood alcohol or drug content – “BADC”, if you’re arrested for driving while under the influence of drugs or liquor (DUI).  This is the Implied Consent Law.

DUI

If you are pulled over for DUI and testing reveals your alcohol concentration is .08 percent or greater (it’s only 0.04 percent for commercial vehicle operators), or if a blood alcohol or drug test kit result is not available, your driving privileges will be revoked immediately, on the spot. Furthermore, before you can obtain a restricted permit or reinstate your driving privileges, you will be required to complete an alcohol or drug screening.

Even Less than 0.08 Percent, You May Be Found Guilty

EVEN IF your blood alcohol is less than 0.08 percent, you may be found guilty of driving while intoxicated or while under the influence of any drug or drug metabolite. And, if you are under 21 years of age, ANY alcohol found in your system could result in suspension of your driver license.

If You Refuse To Submit To Testing or Fail A Test

  • >Automatically lose your driver license for 12 months
  • >If it is your second refusal or conviction within 84 months (7 years), you will lose your driving privilege for 24 months (2 years).
  • >You are required to complete drug and alcohol screening prior to obtaining a restricted permit or reinstate your driver license.
  • >Your driver license will be automatically revoked for a second or third DUI offense, in addtion to any criminal penalties imposed by the courts.

DUI Penalties

DUI – First Offense

  • >Minimum 10 days in jail
  • >Minimum $1,250 fine
  • >Required alcohol screening, treatment, and education
  • >Must equip vehicle you operate with certified ignition interlock device
  • >Must perform community service

DUI – Second Offense

  • >Minimum 90 days in jail
  • >Minimum $3,000 fine
  • >Driver License revoked for 12 months (1 year)
  • >Required alcohol screening, treatment, and education
  • >Must equip vehicle you operate with certified ignition interlock device
  • >Must perform community service

Extreme DUI

If your test for alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher, you will be charged with Extreme DUI.

Extreme DUI – First offense

  • >Minimum 30 consecutive days in jail
  • >No eligibility for probation
  • >No eligibility for suspended sentence
  • >Minimum $2,500 fine.
  • >Mandatory alcohol screening, education and treatment
  • >Mandatory community service
  • >Must equip ANY vehicle you operate with a certified ignition interlock device

Extreme DUI – Second and subsequent offenses

  • >Minimum 120 days in jail
  • >Minimum $3,250 in fines
  • >Driver License revoked for 12 months (1 year).
  • >Mandatory alcohol screening, education and treatment
  • >Mandatory community service
  • >Must equip ANY vehicle you operate with a certified ignition interlock device

Aggravated DUI

You will be charged with aggravated DUI if you commit DUI while on a suspended, revoked, or canceled driver license; if you commit a 3rd DUI within an 84 month (7 year) period; if you commit a DUI with a person under 15 years of age in the vehicle; commit a DUI or refused to take a blood alcohol test while under an ignition interlock device order.

For Aggravated DUI, YOU WILL:

  • >Go to prison for no more than 2 years
  • >Lose your driver license for 3 years
  • >Undergo mandatory alcohol screening, education, and treatment
  • >Perform mandatory community service
  • >Equip ANY vehicle you operate with a certified ignition interlock device

Be safe, always drive with seat belts and if you drink, DO NOT DRIVE.

This article is only for reference and informational purposes. Each licensed driver is responsible to understand and know the driving laws. Make sure you reference the most up to date information and laws by contacting your local law enforcement representative or the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT).

 

Close Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *